Winners 2017: Arts Canteen and Hannah Khalil

2017 marked the first year of awarding both an individual and an organisation with prizes at The Arab British Centre Award for Culture.

The Arab British Centre Award for Culture in the category of individuals was presented to Palestinian – Irish writer Hannah Khalil for her plays such as Plan D, The Deportation Room, and  Scenes from 68* Years, that have served to  educate British audiences about the reality of life in Palestine.

The Arab British Centre Award for Culture in the category of organisations was presented to Arts Canteen for their prolific programme of music, visual arts and comedy, that foster an artistic community and give a platform to emerging and underground artists from the Arab world in the UK

The winners were announced at The Arab British Centre’s 40th anniversary reception at City Hall in front of over 250 guests, including Lord Owen, who inaugurated the Centre in 1977, and H.E. Sulaiman Almazroui, The Ambassador of the UAE.

A distinguished panel of judges selected the winners of the 2017 prize, from a shortlist of ten candidates.  The panel included Sir Derek Plumbly KCMG, Chairman of The Arab British Centre, Venetia Porter, British Museum Curator of Islamic and Contemporary Art, Salma Tuqan, V&A Curator Contemporary Arab Art and Design, Carolyn Perry, Director MBI AL Jaber Foundation, British Council Acting Director Arts for the Middle East and North Africa, David Elliott, and previous award winner and playwright Hassan Abdulrazzaq.

The Arab British Centre would like to congratulate Hannah Khalil and Arts Canteen and the fantastic shortlisted candidates; Ahmed Masoud, Elhum Shakerifar, Reem Kelani and Issam Kourbaj in the category for Individuals, and Comma Press, Mosaic Rooms, Marsm and Qisetna: Talking Syria in the category for organisations.

The Arab British Centre Award for Culture 2017 was presented in collaboration with the British Council, who will provide the winners with the opportunity and support to develop international networks. The Award winners will also receive a £2,500 cash prize to support the development of their work.